Pitzer Announces Commencement Speakers

Pitzer has announced the speakers for its 2009 commencement ceremony.

This year, speakers will include David Feldman, an Emmy Award-winning comedy writer and performer; Springsong Cooper PI ’09; Jim Marchant, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Students; and Kathleen Yep, assistant professor of Asian-American studies and sociology.

David Feldman, the keynote speaker, has written for ABC’s “Roseanne,” HBO’s “Dennis Miller Live,” HBO’s “Real Time with Bill Maher,” and Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart.” He currently writes for “Talk Show with Spike Feresten” on Fox and is a frequently a guest on NBC’s “Late Night with Conan O’Brien.”

Feldman began his career as a stand-up comic in San Francisco after graduating from Columbia University.

Feldman was one of several potential nominees for the honor. Pitzer seniors were given an opportunity to vote for their choice.

Cooper was selected to give the senior class speech at this year’s graduation ceremony. She is from Washington state and majors in international and intercultural studies and minors in economics.

“I am really excited for the opportunity to introduce the class of 2009 to our friends and family on graduation day as well as to address my classmates,” said Cooper. “I challenge them to remain a socially active group of students who follow their passions in life and remind them that our education is a privilege and with that privilege comes responsibility.”

Pitzer students who wanted to be considered for the honor were required to submit a speech and audition with it.

“The choice was difficult for the committee and I know that there were many other great submissions so I feel lucky and honored to have been chosen,” said Cooper. “Speaking at graduation has always been a dream of mine and I hope to make the long ceremony a little more entertaining and inspiring!”

Each year, Pitzer’s graduating class selects a member of the staff or administration to be their honored guest and a member of the faculty to be their student marshal. This year, Marchant was selected as the honored guest and Yep was selected as the student marshal.

The ceremony will take place May 16.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply