ASPC announces fall election results as other student governments continue their election cycles

A large buildings with lights at dusk.
Fall ASPC election results were announced Sept. 10. (Courtesy Pomona College)

Pomona College associate dean Ellie Ash-Balá announced ASPC fall election results in an email to students Sept. 10.

Edinam Eshietedoho PO ’20 was elected north campus representative, Andreah Pierre PO ’22 was elected south campus representative, Ebere Amadi PO ’22 was elected sophomore class president, John West PO ’23 was elected first-year class president and Devon Baker PO ’22 was elected board of trustee representative to the Educational Quality Committee.

Voter turnout more than doubled that of last fall’s election, according to ASPC elections commissioner Sean Volke PO ’21, with 590 students voting this year compared to 289 last year. 

Volke explained via message that interest and participation in elections are influenced by how early the election cycle is, as well as ASPC’s visibility on campus and the dedication of its senators.

“It’s also important to me that candidates [and voters] are committed to and understand ASPC when they participate in elections,” Volke said. “Numbers alone cannot speak to that — and weighing this, we had a successful elections cycle.”

Other 5C student bodies are at different points in their fall election cycles.

Voting for Pitzer Student Senate elections ended Thursday evening, Pitzer Senate President Clint Isom PZ ’20 said via message.

The voting period for SAS first-year class president will run next week from 8 a.m. on Monday to 8 a.m. on Wednesday.

Candidate speeches for ASCMC first-year class president will take place on Monday night, followed by a 24-hour voting period on Tuesday, according to ASCMC President Dina Rosin CM ’20.

ASHMC will begin its call for first-year class president candidates Monday, according to ASHMC President Kyle Grace HM ’21. 

Facebook Comments