News Bites Week of March 24

Pitzer and Harvey Mudd announce election results

Pitzer College and Harvey Mudd College both announced the results of their recent student government elections over the last few weeks.

Clint Isom PZ ’20, a current Pitzer Student Senate vice president, was elected president with 55 percent of the vote, according to a results email sent to Pitzer students. Dexter Lin PZ ’20 was elected one of the vice presidents with 60 percent of the vote.

Several candidates won by default, as they ran unopposed: James Karsten PZ ’22, Abdullah Alexander PZ ’22 and Keely Nguyen PZ ’22 will all also become vice presidents.

Kyle Grace HM ’21 was elected ASHMC president and Alice Chi HM ’21 was elected senate chair, according to a results email to Mudd students.

Two amendments to the Pitzer Senate constitution also passed in the election. One implementing ranked-choice voting for Senate elections passed with 74 percent, while the other, which clarifies the responsibilities of the vice president of finance, allows the appointment of multiple treasurers and allows the student body to recall any member of the senate, passed with 88 percent.

Nearly 45 percent of Pitzer’s student body voted in the election. TSL was unable to obtain ASHMC voting statistics before press time.

— Marc Rod

Three Pomona students win Watson Fellowships

Three Pomona College seniors won highly selective Watson Fellowships, which bestow $30,000 grants for international travel and research. The Sagehens are among just 41 U.S. students who won Watson Fellowships this year, according to a Pomona press release.

Eli Cohen PO ’19 will travel to countries including India, Norway, Spain, Malta and Burma to examine the role of technology in people’s daily lives.

Blake Plante PO ’19 will study corporeal mime in France, Canada, Spain, Japan, Italy, England and South Korea.

Jeremy Snyder PO ’19 will be working on a science-focused photojournalism project about rivers in China, Peru, Brazil, Mexico, Ecuador and Chile.

— Marc Rod

CMC Model UN Team wins second straight world championship

Claremont McKenna College’s Model United Nations team beat Princeton University to win the 27th Annual Harvard Model United Nations Conference championship in the small delegation category, according to a CMC press release.

The team’s win in Madrid over spring break was its fifth WorldMUN victory and second in two years. It previously claimed victory in 2012, 2015, 2016 and 2018.

CMC’s team, which was founded in 2004, is new compared to those at many of the most competitive schools, according to a CMC press release about the team’s 2018 victory.

The WorldMUN website bills the competition as the “Olympics of Model UN.”

Seven of CMC’s 11 team members also won diplomacy awards, the highest award at the competition. One won a second-place award, according to the release.

CMC’s team consisted of Zach Wong CM ’19, Payson Ruhl CM ’19, Nicholas Fedorochko CM ’19, Emma Houston CM ’19, Andrew Ciacci CM ’20, Ariana Kemp CM ’20, Ricardo Mateos Castanon CM ’20, Joe Noss CM ’20, Gemma Sykes CM ’20, Sahib Bhasin CM ’21 and Cameron Hendrickson CM ’21.

— Marc Rod

Facebook Comments