Stag Track Wins 18th Straight SCIAC Title, While Athenas Win 11th in 15 Years

The Stag and Athena track teams swept the SCIAC Championships this past weekend at Occidental. The Stags won the championship for the 18th straight time and the women won for the 11th time in 15 years. The men had 234.4 points, winning by a margin of 124.3 and the women had 175 points, winning by a margin of 71.5.

CMS won a total of 15 events, five on Saturday and ten on Sunday. Saturday’s winners included Taylor Berliant CM ‘11 in the shot put and hammer throw, Warren Brown-Pounds CM ‘10 in the pole vault, Evelyn Ross SC ‘09 in the steeplechase, and Jeff Clark HM ‘09 in the long long jump title to his trophy collection. On Sunday, Clark took home two more SCIAC championships, one in the high jump and one in the triple jump. Clark was the only competitor to win three events—he now has five career SCIAC championships. Stephen Powell CM ‘11 led the way in the throwing department, taking the discus throw title—the Stags had three of the top four finishers. Kris Brown CM ‘11 won the 5000 meter SCIAC championship, adding to CMS’s great lead. Matt Ezer CM ‘09 won the 200 meter event and anchored the 4 x 100 relay team of Jon Hubbard HM ‘10, Mike Carroll CM ‘12, and Noah Goldberg CM ‘09, which won the SCIAC championship for the second time in three years. Katie Harris took nine seconds off her personal best time, winning the 1500 meter run. Aubrey Doede CM ‘11 took home the gold in the high jump, while teammate Reny Colton won the triple jump. The 4 x 400 relay team of Lily Brown SC ‘11, Rachel Bunting CM ‘12, Rebecca Young SC ‘12, and Kelsey Rose CM ‘10, put the icing on the cake for the Athenas, with a winning time of 3:59.26.

CMS finished second in the championships a number of times, including Noah Franz CM ‘10 and Maggie Crank CM ‘09 in the discus throw, Joey Anderson CM ‘12 and Lafayette in the 110 and 400 hurdles, Bunting in the 400 meters, Harris in the 800 meters, Brian Kopczynski CM ‘11 and Ross in the 5000 meters, and the men’s 4 x 400 relay team of Hubbard, Carroll, Dan Olmsted CM ‘11, and Ezer. Saturday’s second place finishers from CMS were Franz and Mary Moore SC ‘09 in the hammer throw, Moore and Andrew Bogrand CM ‘09 in the javelin, Powell in the shot put, Melia Plotkin CM ‘12 in the pole vault, and Kopczynski in the steeplechase.

CMS was the only team in the competition to score points in all 19 events of the meet—both men and women achieved this goal. All four event areas contributed almost evenly to the Stag and Athena dominance. The sprinters and hurdlers scored 101 points (57 from the Stags, 42 from the Athenas), the distance runners 111 (52 Stags, 59 Athenas), the jumpers 82.3 (45.3 Stags, 37 Athenas) and the throwers 117 (80 Stags, 37 Athenas). The Stags and Athenas combined scored 15 firsts, 16 seconds, 11 thirds, 11 fourths, eight fifths and eight sixths—41 athletes scored points for the team.

The CMS teams will continue to compete at the Claremont Classic, which will host Heptahalon and Decathalon events today and Saturday, followed by the Occidental invitational Saturday, May 9, whichwill be the conclusion for most. Finally, the top track and field members will travel to Marietta, OH to compete against Division III’s best in the NCAA Championships, May 21-23.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply