Claremont Colleges Hold Fall Elections

Thomas Schalke, CM ’18, runs the CMC first-year class president elections in Collins Dining Hall on Monday, Sept. 26. (Lauren Schoen • The Student Life)

This story will be updated with each college’s election results as they become available.

Claremont McKenna

Bryan Carlen CM ‘20 won the election to become the Associated Students of Claremont McKenna College’s first-year president on Tuesday, Sept. 26.

220 ballots were cast out of 371 eligible voters, a 59 percent turnout rate.

Carlen, who is from the Bay Area, outcompeted 10 other candidates, one of whom was eliminated in each round of voting.

In the final round, Carlen achieved a majority—53 percent of the votes.

During his Monday night speech at Collins Dining Hall, Carlen laid out his platform.

“In my short time here at CMC, I’ve fallen in love with the diversity of backgrounds and mindsets that our class has to offer,” he said. “My goal is to build a freshman class community centered around getting to know each other, no matter how different we may seem.”

To create a more fun and inclusive community at Claremont McKenna, Carlen plans to have “a killer class T-shirt, freshman class parties, class-wide games of ultimate frisbee or soccer, and puppy therapy.”

“This would allow us all to mix and mingle with each other, and speak with students we may have never otherwise spoken to,” Carlen said. “I’ve spoken to multiple upperclassmen, including sophomores, juniors and seniors, who say they’ve found interesting people they’ve never talked to, and I want to tackle this problem this year.”

Sahil Sinha ‘20 CM noted that Carlen’s campaign had little social media presence, but attributed its success to his in-person communication.

“[It’s] so easy to just hit ‘like’ on a post or video or picture, so candidates with social media campaigns seemed pretty popular,” Sinha said. “But I guess having a real life event that’s pretty popular is even more indicative of support than popular social media posts.”

Scripps College

Scripps Associated Students (SAS) announced the results of the first-year class representative election on Friday, Sept. 21. Kimberly Kaneshina SC ’20 won with 70.7 percent of the vote.

A total of 166 votes were validated and counted. Delaney Hewitt SC ’20 was the runner-up with 18.5 percent, Anastasia Kourotchkina SC ’20 earned 8.9 percent, and others received 1.9 percent.

Kaneshina, who created a Snapchat filter to promote her campaign, aims to increase student involvement in SAS by planning campus-wide events to promote community and connectivity, as well as increase connections and communication with the class of 2020.

Kaneshina has four years of experience as a student government officer in high school, and was a California State Leadership director. She describes herself as “Reliable, intentional, [and] motivated.”

Pomona College

ASPC Senate announced their fall election results Sept. 14, following a candidates forum on Sept. 11 in Frank Dining Hall and two days of voting.

Carlos Hernandez PO ’18 was elected North Campus Representative. Hernandez told voters at the forum that he will work to “keep North Campus engaged in and informed about Pomona’s student government” and will strive to maintain “the principles of transparency and fairness.”

Justina Wu PO ’19, the South Campus Representative, presented a platform that included encouraging organizations that throw parties to train members on sexual violence prevention skills and reducing the severity of punishment for marijuana use in Pomona’s new points system.

Holly Scrugham PO ’19 was an unopposed candidate for Sophomore Class Representative and said at the forum that she will focus on “improving and ensuring transparency and accountability in the administration, easing access to resources, and building community.”

First-Year Class Representative Zemia Edmondson PO ’20 promised to fight for “free tampons and pads, solidifying the divestment from fossil fuels […] and greater and easier access to mental health services for first years.” She also plans to host drop-in meetings or discussions at least twice a month to better respond to the needs of her class.

Elections commissioner Chloe An PO ’18 said that she appreciated the high turnout and student engagement at the forum.

“It’s great to see all the sponsor groups and organizations coming out to support their candidates,” she said.

Pitzer College

The Pitzer College Student Senate announced its new elected and appointed leaders for the 2016-17 school year on Friday, Sept. 9.

This year’s new elected students are: Matthew Brunstad PZ ’20 and Patrick Jimenez PZ ’17 (Academic Planning Committee); Sam Kole PZ ’19, Justin Preciado PZ ’19, and Anna Freitas PZ ’20 (Campus Aesthetics Committee); Talha Jilani PZ ’20 and Claire Davis Wengrod PZ ’19 (Campus Life Committee); Dana Nothnagel PZ ’19 (Curriculum Committee); Brendan Schultz PZ ’20 (First-Year Representative); Eve Wang PZ ’19 (International Representative); and Shivani Kavuluru PZ ’19 (Secretary).

New appointed students are: Lavinya Yap PZ ’19 (Academic Standards Committee); April Forrest PZ ’18 and Peter Hansen PZ ’18 (Academic Planning Committee); Arman Ahmed PZ ’19 (Campus Life Committee); Emily Dillemuth PZ ’18 (Curriculum Committee); Alexander Brown-Whalen PZ ’18 (Faculty Executive Committee); Nick Fram PZ ’17 (Student-Alumni Relations Committee); and Amanda Martin-Lawrence PZ ’20 and Hunter Lee Sidel PZ ’19 (Teaching and Learning Committee).

Senate President Josue Pasillas PZ ’17 invited everyone to join him in thanking all the students who took part in the voting process and all the candidates who stood up to represent their student body.

“The Pitzer College Student Senate assures that the student voice plays a central role in the critical decisions made,” he said in an email to the Pitzer community.

First-Year Representative Schultz, who has high school student government experience, has many goals for the year ahead, including reducing Pitzer’s environmental impact, building a more inclusive community, and improving treatment of victims of sexual assault

“I am confident that Pitzer will continue to be a place where bigotry is not tolerated, even during these reactionary times,” he said.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply